1 year ago

2021 Graduate School Commencement Program

  • Text
  • Rapids
  • Michigan
  • Commencement
  • School
  • School
  • Vai
  • Institute
This is the event program for Van Andel Institute Graduate School's 2021 Commencement Ceremony. It includes bios for each graduating student.

Monday, May 3,

Monday, May 3, 2021 2 PM | VIRTUAL VIA ZOOM DOWNLOAD A PRINTABLE PDF OF THE PROGRAM BOOKLET AND GRADUATING STUDENT BIOSKETCHES HERE. GATHERING TIME OPENING OF CEREMONY Dr. Steven J. Triezenberg, President and Dean, Van Andel Institute Graduate School INTRODUCTION OF GRADUATES BY MENTORS Dr. Patrick Grohar Dr. Wei Lü PRESENTATION OF CANDIDATES FOR DEGREE Dr. Steven J. Triezenberg CONFERRING OF DEGREES Dr. Juan Olivarez, Chair, Van Andel Institute Graduate School Board of Directors PRESENTATION OF HOODS REFLECTIONS BY GRADUATES Maggie Chassé Wooyoung Choi STUDENT PERSPECTIVE Eric Cordeiro-Spinetti, on behalf of the Graduate Student Association CONCLUSION OF CEREMONY Music for today’s celebration performed by Kopper and Keys. For general questions, please contact Susanne Miller-Schachinger. For AV questions, please contact AV Support. PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS Patrick Grohar, M.D., Ph.D. Brian Haab, Ph.D. Wei Lü, Ph.D. Juan Olivarez, Ph.D. Steven J. Triezenberg, Ph.D. CANDIDATES FOR DEGREE AND THESIS ADVISERS Maggie Chassé — Patrick Grohar, M.D., Ph.D. Wooyoung Choi — Wei Lü, Ph.D. Robert Vaughan — Scott Rothbart, Ph.D. Leslie Wyman — Darren Moore, Ph.D. VAN ANDEL EDUCATION INSTITUTE BOARD OF TRUSTEES David Van Andel Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Van Andel Institute James E. Bultman, Ed.D. Susan Keipper Meell Juan Olivarez, Ph.D. Teresa Weatherall Neal, Ed.D. VAN ANDEL INSTITUTE GRADUATE SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS James B. Fahner, M.D. Peter A. Jones, Ph.D., D.Sc. (hon) Karen Klomparens, Ph.D., Vice Chair Mary O’ Riordan, Ph.D Candace T. Smith-King, M.D. Danny R. Welch, Ph.D. Juan Olivarez, Ph.D Chairman of the Board Thomas Curran, J.D. Secretary to the Board Katie Helder, B.S. Treasurer to the Board VAN ANDEL INSTITUTE GRADUATE SCHOOL FACULTY Stephen B. Baylin, M.D. José Brás, Ph.D. Lena Brundin, M.D., Ph.D. Patrik Brundin, M.D., Ph.D. Hong-Yuan Chu, Ph.D. Gerry Coetzee, Ph.D. Juan Du, Ph.D. Carrie R. Graveel, Ph.D. Rita Guerreiro, Ph.D. Brian Haab, Ph.D. Michael Henderson, Ph.D. Galen Hostetter, M.D. Scott D. Jewell, Ph.D. Peter A. Jones, Ph.D., D.Sc. (hon) Russell Jones, Ph.D. Stefan Jovinge, M.D., Ph.D. Connie Krawczyk, Ph.D. Peter Laird, Ph.D. Heidi Lempradl, Ph.D. Huilin Li, Ph.D. Wei Lü, Ph.D. Karsten Melcher, Ph.D. Darren Moore, Ph.D. David Nadziejka, M.S. Gerd Pfeifer, Ph.D. J. Andrew Pospisilik, Ph.D. Scott Rothbart, Ph.D. Hui Shen, Ph.D. Xiaobing Shi, Ph.D. Matthew R. Steensma, M.D. Piroska Szabó, Ph.D. Tim Triche, Jr., Ph.D. Steven J. Triezenberg, Ph.D. Hong Wen, Ph.D. Bart O. Williams, Ph.D. Mary Winn, Ph.D. Ning Wu, Ph.D. Tao Yang, Ph.D.

Publications by Year