11 months ago

25th Anniversary Highlights of Hope

  • Text
  • Donor publication
  • Vai
  • Highlights of hope
  • Spring summer
  • 25th anniversary
  • Medical mile
  • Grand rapids
  • Van andel institute
  • Vaiorg
  • Epigenetics
  • Michigan
  • Scientific
  • Scientists
This is the 25th anniversary edition of Highlights of Hope, published in Fall 2021.

JVA Honorees Tom Isaacs:

JVA Honorees Tom Isaacs: A grand vision VAN ANDEL INSTITUTE | 25 YEARS DR. PATRIK BRUNDIN AT GRAND CHALLENGES IN PARKINSON’S DISEASE, 2012 2012 VAI establishes the Grand Challenges in Parkinson’s Disease symposium When Dr. Patrik Brundin arrived at VAI in January 2012 to launch our Parkinson’s research program, one of his first acts was to establish Grand Challenges in Parkinson’s Disease, a symposium that brings together Parkinson’s experts to explore the latest research. The inaugural event took place that fall and included the presentation of the first Jay Van Andel Award for Outstanding Achievement in Parkinson’s Disease Research. This award is given annually to a scientist or scientists who have made outstanding contributions to Parkinson’s disease research and who have positively impacted human health. It honors the memory of VAI Founder Jay Van Andel, who battled Parkinson’s for a decade before his death in 2004. Today, Grand Challenges in Parkinson’s Disease has grown into a multi-faceted event that routinely attracts hundreds of attendees from around the world. It has covered a host of critical issues in Parkinson’s research, including genetic factors, inflammation, clinical trials, disease-modifying therapies and the role of non-motor symptoms. In 2014, VAI and Cure Parkinson’s (formerly The Cure Parkinson’s Trust) added a critical new dimension to the event with the establishment of Rallying to the Challenge, a parallel meeting for people with Parkinson’s. Designed as a way to amplify the voices of the Parkinson’s community, Rallying to the Challenge has become a global touchpoint for people with Parkinson’s, advocates and care partners to connect, collaborate and provide valuable insights to scientists. DAVID VAN ANDEL, DR. ANDREW SINGLETON & DR. PATRIK BRUNDIN, 2012 Jay Van Andel Award for Outstanding Achievement in Parkinson’s Research Honorees include: 2021 Ted Dawson, M.D. 2020 Daniela Berg, M.D., & Ron Postuma, M.D., M.Sc. 2019 Ellen Sidransky, M.D. 2018 K. Ray Chaudhuri, M.D., FRCP, D.Sc. 2017 J. William Langston, M.D. 2016 Stanley Fahn, M.D. 2015 Robert Nussbaum, M.D., & Maria Grazia Spillantini, Ph.D., FMedSci, FRS 2014 Andrew John Lees, M.D., FRCP, FMedSci 2013 Alim-Louis Benabid, M.D., Ph.D. 2012 Andrew Singleton, Ph.D. As co-founder of Cure Parkinson’s and a passionate advocate for the Parkinson’s community, Tom Isaacs recognized the importance of ensuring that people with Parkinson’s had a voice in research. This fervent belief manifested into the Rallying to the Challenge meeting, which annually brings together scientists and people with Parkinson’s from around the world. Isaacs passed away in 2017. In his memory, Cure Parkinson’s and VAI established the Tom Isaacs Award, which recognizes an individual who includes people with Parkinson’s in a participatory way in their work. Awardees include: 2020 Caroline Tanner, M.D., Ph.D. 2019 Tilo Kunath, Ph.D. TOM ISAACS 2018 Bastiaan Bloem, M.D., Ph.D., & Simon Stott, Ph.D. 2017 Thomas Foltynie, B.Sc., MBBS, MRCP, Ph.D. 32 2012

“At Van Andel Institute Graduate School, we aren't training students to be students — we're training them to be the scientific leaders of tomorrow.” Dr. Steven J. Triezenberg 2012 VAI and area partners join forces to create a world-class biorepository, which was accredited by the College of American Pathologists in 2012 Since then, the Biorepository has taken part in many highprofile projects. For example, in 2020, VAI’s Biorepository was awarded a .7 million, two-year subcontract from the Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research, currently operated by Leidos Biomedical Research, Inc., on behalf of the National Cancer Institute to serve as the biorepository for the Cancer Moonshot SM Biobank study, a national initiative to transform cancer treatment and prevention through accelerated research 1 . 1 The project has been funded in whole or in part with federal funds from the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health under contract no. HHSN261201500003I, Task Order HHSN26100042 through Leidos Biomedical Research, Inc. under subcontract no. 20X062Q. The content of this publication does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Department of Health and Human Services, nor does mention of trade names, commercial products or organizations imply endorsement by the U.S. government. (LEFT TO RIGHT) DR. STEVEN J. TRIEZENBERG, DR. NATALIE NIEMI, JONATHAN KARNES & DR. JEFF KLOMP 2012 First students graduate from Van Andel Institute Graduate School They were Jonathan Karnes, M.S., Dr. Jeff Klomp, and Dr. Natalie Niemi. The Graduate School in August 2021 2013 VAI Graduate School receives accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission Van Andel Institute Graduate School was accredited by the Higher Learning Commission in 2013 and was later reaffirmed in 2018. Accreditation provides students the assurance that an institution of higher learning delivers a quality educational experience — one that will be recognized by potential employers, licensing boards or other educational institutions. The HLC is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the U.S. Accreditation criteria include the school’s had 32 alumni and an active student body of 45 Ph.D. degree candidates. mission and integrity; teaching and learning quality and support; and overall institutional effectiveness, resources and planning. Receiving this designation solidifies the Graduate School’s ability to deliver an impressive, impactful higher education experience to its students. The next reaffirmation of accreditation is scheduled for 2024. VAN ANDEL INSTITUTE | 25 YEARS 2012 – 2013 33

Publications by Year